The one question we have been hearing over and over is “do I really need a trail pass in addition to my registration to ride this year?” The answer is YES and if you don’t have one, you risk getting a $200.50 fine!
Effective July 1, 2015 each sled operating on a WI public snowmobile trail will be required to display a Wisconsin trail pass, to be purchased annually. This applies to both Wisconsin residents and non-residents.
You can actually get a discounted trail pass by joining a club like the County Line Sno Busters. In fact, we are picking up new members every day as more snowmobilers opt to join a club to save on the trail pass fees, especially if they own multiple sleds. We are glad to have the new members and plan to show them the many benefits of belonging to a club.
If you already belong to a club, you can order your discounted $10 trail pass here. The ONLY place you can order the $10 trail pass is through the AWSC office. The AWSC office does not have trail passes in the office to pick up, you can only order them and then you will wait for processing and mailing so plan accordingly. It is not legal to ride with the receipt for the $10 trail pass. The trail pass needs to be on the snowmobile.
If you are not a member of a club and the AWSC – then you need to purchase your $30 Trail Pass through the WI DNR or anywhere that sells state licenses. Trail passes may be purchased over the counter at many authorized sales locations or by calling WDNR at 1-888-WDNRINFo (1-888-936-7463). If you are in a hurry to hit the trail, this may be your only option even if you belong, or plan to join, a snowmobile club.